MEA announces dates for State Award Ceremonies

MEA today announced the dates and venues for the State and Territory award ceremonies, to be held throughout April 2018.

This comes as 26 independent member and non-member industry Judges finalise their confidential scores for the 2017 MEA National Awards.

  • New South Wales – Powerhouse Museum – 4 April
  • Canberra – Canberra Convention Centre – 4 April
  • Victoria – Leonda by the Yarra – 5 April
  • Tasmania – Hotel Grand Chancellor – 5 April
  • Western Australia – 5 April
  • South Australia –12 April
  • Queensland – Royal International Convention Centre – 17 April
  • Northern Territory – Adina Vibe – 24 April

The MEA awards underwent a significant overhaul in 2017, with every category, award and submission questions updated.

The awards now align with changes that have occurred in the meetings and events landscape.

The new format and updated categories were well received by the industry and resulted in an impressive 26% increase in submissions for the 2017 Awards.

Robyn Johnson, Chief Executive Officer of MEA commented: “We are delighted at the response to the revitalised National Awards program.

“MEA’s Awards program is the largest and most prestigious national awards program for the meetings and events industries in Australia and it sets the benchmark for our industry.

“We are proud of the program and we look forward to celebrating with finalists and winners at the Awards ceremonies in each state, and again at the National Awards as part of our National Conference in Adelaide in May.

“I encourage everyone to attend these important events and celebrate with the industry’s best”, she added.

The winner of each category from each state will go on to compete against other states, with the winner to be crowned the National winner.

Winners will be announced and presented at the MEA National Awards ceremony at the South Australia Convention Centre on 8 May 2018, coinciding with MEA’s National Conference.