The final countdown: MEA awards applications close in 10 days

There are only 10 DAYS remaining before applications close for the 2017 MEA Industry Awards. Entries close at 5pm (AEDT) on Wednesday 14 February.

The MEA Awards acknowledge the achievements of the meetings and events industry and showcases the outstanding work and excellence of individuals and businesses in Australia.

This year’s MEA Award categories have been rejuvenated to recognise the evolution of the meetings and events industry, its professionals, roles, organisational changes and education.

Some of the key changes include:

  • 25 of the 38 Awards are new or have been reinvigorated.
  • The application documentation has been simplified
  • Qualification period is October 2016 – December 2017 (with the aim of shifting to calendar year from 2018)

New award categories include:

  • Event Agency
  • Creativity
  • Innovation
  • Social Legacy
  • Education and Training
    ….and more.

For the first time, MEA invites members to nominate their Outstanding Industry Professional. Simply sign into the members portal and submit your

About the Awards

Each State will have its own Awards ceremony held in March or April 2018. The winners of each of the State Awards will compete for the National Awards presented at the Awards Dinner during the 2018 Meetings and Events Australia Conference in Adelaide.

Further information on the MEA Awards categories and criteria, rules for entry and the judging process can be found at or email