Top hotels touted at accommodation awards

The Park Hyatt Sydney and Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley have won the top honours at the Tourism Accommodation Australia (NSW) Awards for Excellence for the second consecutive year.

The best hotels in the state’s multi-billion dollar tourism sector were recognised recently at a special ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Sydney, before a crowd of almost 700 political, industry and business leaders including NSW Minister for Tourism and Major Events Adam Marshall.

This year more than 300 nominations were received from a record 80 hotels across 34 categories.

The Park Hyatt Sydney won Metropolitan Deluxe Hotel of the Year for the second year running – The Langham, Sydney was highly commended.

Regional Deluxe Hotel of the Year was also won for the second consecutive year by Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley, which also was inducted into the TAA NSW Hall of Fame for Best Environmental Practices.

Metropolitan Superior Hotel of the Year was won jointly by Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour and PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney while Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains won Regional Superior Hotel of the Year.

Atura Blacktown and Holiday Inn Express Sydney Macquarie Park were joint winners of the MidRange Hotel of the Year Award (the second year running for Atura Blacktown).

The award for best Redeveloped/Refurbished Hotel of the Year went to Primus Hotel, Sydney and the Apartment/Suite Hotel of the Year was won by Fraser Suites Sydney, with QT Bondi highly commended.

Bar of the Year (Mid-Range-Superior) was won by Roadhouse Bar & Grill, Atura Albury and Bar of the Year (Deluxe) went to Stillery, Intercontinental Sydney Double Bay (Grain Bar, Four Seasons was highly commended).

NSW Minister for Tourism and Major Events Adam Marshall offered his congratulations on the high quality of both nominees and winners.

“NSW continues to lead the nation in visitors, visitor nights and visitor expenditure in both the international and domestic market and the quality of our tourism products and experiences such as these are a huge contributor to our State’s success,” Marshall said.

“I would also like to congratulate TAA NSW for officially acknowledging the vital role accommodation hotels and their staff play in attracting visitors to our great state of NSW.”

TAA NSW chair Peter Tudehope said the 2017 TAA NSW Awards for Excellence winners exemplified the best in the tourism industry.

“NSW really does set the standard when it comes to the quality of our accommodation venues and their hard-working staff,” he said.

“Each year at the Awards for Excellence we honour the best in the business for their tireless efforts throughout the year in providing a great experience for visitors to this state.

“I congratulate all winners on a job well done.”

The 2017 TAA (NSW) Award for Excellence property winners also include:  

Health Club & Spa Facilities of the Year: Emirates One&Only Spa, Wolgan Valley and The Darling Spa, The Star (both also 2016 winners)

Restaurant of the Year (Deluxe): Altitude, Shangri-La Hotel Sydney and Jonah’s Restaurant and Boutique Hotel (joint winners)

Restaurant of the Year (Mid-Range/Superior hotels): Echoes Restaurant, Echoes Boutique Hotel and Steeds Club Grill & Bar, Rydges Parramatta (Steeds also won in 2016)

Brasserie / Café of the Year: Roadhouse Bar & Grill, Atura Blacktown

Conference & Events Venue of the Year: Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains and Hyatt Regency Sydney

Workplace Health and Safety Hotel of the Year: Mercure Sydney

Outstanding Achievement in Training: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Outstanding Community Service & Achievement: Atura Blacktown & Crowne Plaza Terrigal

Best Environmental Initiatives: The Star Sydney (highly commended – Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley)

Best Innovation Project: Meriton Suites

Other TAA (NSW) Award winners in the “people” category include:

Marketing Employee of the Year: Marie-Cecile Heritage Sofitel Sydney Darling Harbour.

Bradley Curtain Meriton Suites highly commended.

Sales Employee of the Year: Sian Armour Holiday Inn Sydney Airport.

Marianne Lunoe Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney highly commended.

Conference and Events Employee of the Year: Erin Mules PARKROYAL Parramatta.

Megan Parker Intercontinental Double Bay highly commended.

Finance Manager of the Year: Janny Zhang, The Westin Sydney

Engineer of the Year: Andy Goonesekera Intercontinental Sydney & Anura Yapa (Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney) (joint winners).

Wayne Adamson of Rydges Campbelltown highly commended.

Housekeeper of the Year: Yulli Kennedy Ovolo Woolloomooloo.

Connie Faelnar of Meriton Suites Church Street Parramatta highly commended.

IT Manager of the Year: Oscar Aung, Park Hyatt Sydney

Revenue/Yield Manager of the Year: Anne-Marie Chapple Holiday Inn Sydney Airport.

Hajni Andras Four Seasons Hotel highly commended.

Human Resources Employee of the Year: Laurence Luxford Meriton Suites.

Riley Mackenzie PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney – highly commended.

Rooms Division Employee of the Year: Ben Li Sheraton on the Park.

Johanna Siemer Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay highly commended.