Meetings & Events Australia reveals new-look board

Meetings & Events Australia (MEA) held its annual general meeting (AGM) yesterday at which the results of its annual board director election ballot was announced.

Valid nominations were received from nine candidates whose profiles and policy statements were presented to MEA members with voting eligibility. Three positions were contested following resignations by incumbent directors Nigel Collin, Kirsty Forbes and Paula Nolan.

The ballot produced a clear result which saw the three highest vote counts be received by Megan Peters (Lateral Event Management), Tina Eggers (The Venues Collection) and Vicky Troptsidis.

A meeting of MEA’s new board was held subsequent to the AGM, at which the offices of chair, deputy chair, treasurer and company secretary were determined.

These office bearers moving forward are Michael Firman (Harry the hirer) as chair, Beverley Williamson (Melbourne Convention Bureau) as deputy chair, Paul Davison (SMC Conference & Function Centre) as treasurer, and Peter McDonald (MEA) as company secretary.

Departing MEA chair Nigel Collin said the calibre of nominations received for board positions this year was indicative of the strength and tenacity of the sector.

“I offer my personal congratulations to the three newly appointed MEA board members, and my continued support of the continuing existing members.

“MEA members and indeed the greater industry will benefit from their guidance, experience and talent. MEA and its members are in safe and capable hands.

“I am proud to have played a part in serving MEA members and the industry through the challenging COVID times, and for their efforts, passion and vision, I want to thank the board members I worked alongside, team MEA and those others who gave their support in my time as chair.

“With 2022 set to be the year of recovery and growth, I am looking forward to MEA’s continued support in helping MEA members and the sector go from strength to strength.”

MEA’s new-look board

Incoming MEA chair Michael Firman said: “On behalf of all continuing directors, I congratulate Megan, Tina and Vicky on their election, and look forward to their contributions to the board as we collectively work to steward MEA in a post-COVID world.

“Each of them brings unique experience that will add value to the strategic leadership we seek to provide to primarily benefit MEA’s members, but also in the interests and leadership of the greater events sector.

“As I reflect on what MEA means to me, MEA is the coach, the connector, the cheerleader. It is a community of industry leaders and like-minded individuals with shared experiences, challenges and aspirations.

“Being elected as chair of the MEA board is a great privilege and honour, but also incredibly humbling.”

Firman also acknowledged the departure of Collin, Forbes and Nolan, thanking them for their commitment and loyalty to MEA during their tenures as directors.

“The impact of the pandemic on the MEA business has been heavy,” he said.

“A debt of gratitude is owed to each of them for the active hands-on role they played to keep the business operating throughout, in addition to the thought leadership they contributed during board discussions.

“We wish them every success as they refocus their professional attention.”