Tourism Accommodation Australia NSW Awards makes spectacular return

For the first time since 2019, the state’s multi-billion-dollar tourism accommodation sector has come together to celebrate the industry’s ‘night of nights’ at the 2022 Tourism Accommodation Australia NSW Awards for Excellence.

Hotels including Emirates One & Only Wolgan Valley, Four Seasons Sydney, Event Hospitality (Rydges) and The Langham, Sydney were among the big winners at the gala event held at The Fullerton Hotel, Sydney.

Records were broken across the board with more than 226 finalists across 28 categories.

It also marked the first time TAA and the Accommodation Association came together at an official awards ceremony – as the peak industry bodies move closer to their merger into Accommodation Australia.

An audience of more than 600 industry and political leaders attended the event including NSW Minister for Transport and Veterans, David Elliott MP, Shadow Minister for Trade and Tourism Kevin Hogan MP and Australian Hotels Association NSW and National President Scott Leach.

TAA NSW Chair Richard Doyle told the crowd the night was not only a chance to celebrate the finalists and winners, but a chance to acknowledge the sense of family and commitment which had united the industry throughout the pandemic.

“The impacts have been felt differently by all of you, but no one has escaped unscathed,” he said.

“We are an industry built on relationships and we will never again take for granted the experience of being able to gather in a room together with friends and colleagues and break bread.”

Doyle also took the opportunity to welcome members of the Accommodation Association to the awards for the first time, and said it was ‘another step in the successful merging of our two great associations.’

Many of the state’s best-known hotels took out awards at the event.

Emirates One & Only Wolgan Valley won Deluxe Hotel of the Year, with Crown Towers Sydney achieving Highly Commended. The Star Sydney was named Metropolitan Superior Hotel of the Year, while team members at the Four Seasons, Sydney took out the all-important ‘people’ awards for Concierge of the Year, Pastry Chef of the Year, Sales and Marketing Talent of the Year and a Highly Commended for Hotel Industry Rising Star.

The Langham, Sydney received its second consecutive award for Outstanding Community Contribution, while Rydges Newcastle won Mid-Range Hotel of the Year and Crystalbrook Byron was named Redeveloped/Refurbished Hotel of the Year.

Apartment/Suite Hotel of the Year went to SKYE Suites, Sydney, while Restaurant of the Year (Deluxe) was awarded to Amara at Spicers Sangoma Retreat and Restaurant of the Year (Mid-Range Superior) went to Mister Percy at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo.

The event’s inaugural Hotel Executive of the Year award went to Shaun O’Bryan from Oaks Cyrpress Lakes Resort & Elysia Wellness Retreat, while this year’s Hall of Fame Inductee was industry icon Peter Tudehope of the Radisson Hotel Group.

TAA NSW and National CEO Michael Johnson said the night was the perfect time for the sector to come back together after the challenges of the past two years.

“If nothing else, the pandemic proved that our industry is both resilient and innovative,” he said.

“The opportunity to come together and recognise the efforts of those who continued to perform at the top of their game despite the challenges we have all faced was certainly something to celebrate.

“It was also great to have the Accommodation Association join us as we work towards finalising the amalgamation of these two great accommodation organisations.

“I congratulate all our winners, highly-commended recipients, and finalists.”

Featured Image: Hall of fame inductee 2022 – Peter Tudehope