Updated travel requirements: here’s everything you need to know

The omicron variant has spread rapidly throughout the world and Australia and with it we’ve seen a new array of travel requirements for Aussies.

But the requirements are not limited to international travel, with several states also adjusting interstate requirements over the holiday period.

So what requirements do Aussie travellers face as we kick off 2022?

International travel:

Aussie citizens and permanent residents aged 12 and over who are fully vaccinated can leave Australia without needing an outwards travel exemption and can be eligible for reduced quarantine requirements when returning to Australia.

Quarantine-free international travel into Australia is possible for fully vaccinated Australian citizens, permanent residents and temporary visa holders in NSW, Victoria, the Northern Territory, South Australia, Tasmania and the ACT, provided they isolate until they receive a negative test result.

Direct international arrivals to Western Australia and Queensland must undertake hotel quarantine for 14 days.

Travellers to Australia should complete an Australia Travel Declaration (ATD) at least 72 hours prior to departure. The ATD includes a vaccination certificate, a legally binding declaration in relation to their vaccination status, and an acknowledgement that when they check-in for their flight, they must present evidence of a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken within 3 days of their flight’s scheduled departure to Australia.

The ATD also includes a declaration regarding the travellers last 14 days travel history, and a declaration that the person will comply with the quarantine requirements of the state/territory of first arrival and any other state/territory to which they intend to travel and have made quarantine arrangements prior to travel where required.

Interstate travel:


For those arriving in NSW from another Australian state or territory, there is currently no requirement to complete an entry declaration form, however, entry will be restricted if an NSW Health concerns notice identifies affected areas, areas of concern and places of concern.

If you are allowed to travel to NSW from a location that appears in the COVID-19 concerns notice, when you arrive you may be required to self-isolate for 10 days and get a COVID test.

There is currently no concerns notice for any other state or territory.

Travellers also need to comply with COVID-19 rules and restrictions within NSW.


There is no permit required to enter Victoria from interstate, unless you have been overseas in the past 14 days, and there are no domestic testing requirements for interstate arrivals.

Victorian residents who tested positive to COVID-19 interstate can return home to complete their isolation.


Travellers entering Queensland from a hotspot must be fully vaccinated, take a COVID-19 PCR test (from a COVID-19 hotspot), receive a negative test result within the 72 hours prior to their arrival in Queensland, and apply for and receive a Queensland Entry Pass.

Those who have not been in a hotspot can enter directly from a safe travel zone without restrictions.

Hot spots include NSW, ACT, Victoria, parts of the Northern Territory around Darwin and the north island of New Zealand.

South Australia:

There are no restrictions on interstate travel in South Australia.


Fully vaccinated travellers need to register their travel through the Tas-e Travel system and those who have been in high risk areas need to have a negative result from a COVID-19 test before arriving in Tasmania. This can be a rapid antigen test 24 hours before departure or a PCR 72 hours prior to departure.

Unvaccinated travellers will be required to quarantine for up to 14 days after applying to enter Tasmania through the Tas-e travel system. They also need to provide a negative COVID test prior to departure.

Northern Territory:

Fully vaccinated people can travel to the NT without quarantine and proof of vaccination is required on entry. Travellers must complete a border re-entry form before arriving, receive a rapid antigen test after arrival, on day 3 and day 6, and are required to download the G2G Now App.

These travellers can travel anywhere in the NT, except to an excluded community, within 14 days of arrival.

Unvaccinated travellers are not allowed to enter the NT.

Western Australia:

Travellers from everywhere in Australia except for the NT are not permitted to enter without an approval through G2G Pass, and must undergo 14 days quarantine at a government approved hotel.

They also have to provide proof of being double vaccinated and will need to be tested on days 1, 5 and 13 of quarantine.

Travellers from the NT also need an approved G2G Pass and must undergo self-quarantine at a suitable premises for 14 days. These travellers have to undergo testing on days 1 and day 12, as well as provide proof of being fully vaccinated.


There are no longer any restrictions on interstate travel to the ACT.