Women in Travel Awards 2019 winners revealed!

The drinks were flowing and the gongs were going as Australia’s travel industry honoured the top females working in it at the Women in Travel Awards 2019 in Sydney on Thursday night.

A sell-out crowd of more than 400 attendees came together at Doltone House – Hyde Park to recognise those females who have achieved astronomic success in their professional arenas and celebrate their invaluable contribution through leadership, innovation and courage to the travel industry.

Take a look at all the photos from the event, which was put on by The Nibbler‘s sister publication, Travel Weeklyhere.

The night kicked off with an inspiring keynote (which you can read all about here) from Mehalah Beckett, regional general manager for sub-Saharan Africa at Intrepid Group, and also included a special Q&A with Carnival supremo Ann Sherry.

The 20 most powerful women in the travel industry for 2019 were also revealed, with Contiki’s Katrina Barry claiming the number one spot. You can check out the Women in Travel Power List in full here.

A total of 18 awards were handed out on the night. You can check out the shortlisted candidates for this year here, and the winners below:


Samantha Van Eldik, Adventure World

Corporate (sponsored by Uber)

Siobhan Foley, Accenture

Road and Rail

Kate Meldrum, THL


Daniella Pittis, Flight Centre Travel Group

Retail (sponsored by G Adventures)

Leisa Davis, Helloworld Travel Biloela/Rockhampton/Gladstone

Tourism Board (sponsored by APT)

Suzanne Tobin, Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi

Sustainable Practices Champion (sponsored by Air Canada)

Cliona O’Flaherty, Kokomo Private Island Resort

Entrepreneur of the Year (sponsored by Collette)

Frith Hudson Graham, GirlsTrek

Mentor of the Year (sponsored by Intrepid Group)

Katrina Barry, Contiki


Elizabeth Hutchison, Air New Zealand


Jayne Andrews, Carnival Cruise Lines

Executive Leader of the Year

Danielle Galloway, Flight Centre

Social Media

Nicole Redfern, Wotif

Marketer of the Year

Kristy Flay, Intrepid Group

PR of the Year

Monique Parker, Kingfisher Bay Resort

Rising Star of the Year (sponsored by IHG)

Danni Eather, G Adventures

Salesperson of the Year (sponsored by Viva! Holidays)

Elizabeth Hutchison, Air New Zealand

Employer of the Year (sponsored by Intrepid Group)

Spencer Group of Companies

WIT Awards 2019 sponsor block